Teacher of the Year


South Carolina Future Minds, the South Carolina Department of Education, the Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention, and Advancement (CERRA), and the 2018 Host Committee invite you to join us in celebrating and honoring our state’s extraordinary educators.

Hear from the 2018 SC Teacher of the Year
View photos from the 2017 Teacher of the Year Gala
Become a 2018 Sponsor
Past Teachers of the Year

With many thanks to our generous sponsors:

BMW Manufacturing Company – Premier Sponsor
BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina – Palmetto Sponsor

Crescent Moon Sponsors:
Clemson University
Cricket Newman Flowers
Data Recognition Corporation
Halligan, Mahoney, & Williams
Leadership SC
Notre Dame Club of the Western Carolinas
Palmetto State Teachers Association
South Carolina School Boards Association
South Carolina School Boards Insurance & Trust
The SC Education Association
Total Wine
USC School of Education

District Sponsors:
Security Federal Bank
Delta Dental of South Carolina
NTA, Washington National
Representative Shannon Erickson
Kelly Educational Staffing
Charleston County School District
The Reading Warehouse
Representative Greg Delaney
APLHA Behavioral Health Center
Clarendon School District
Colleton County School District & Palmetto Rural Telephone Cooperative
Latta Education Foundation
Dillon School District Four
The Intertech Group
Dr. Jim Rex, Superintendent JR Green, & Senator Mike Fanning
Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, Cumming,
Pee Dee Federal Credit Union
South State Bank
Nelson Mullins Riley Scarborough LLP
The Self Foundation
Duff & Childs, LLC
Senator Luke Rankin
Senator Vincent Sheheen, Representative Laurie Funderburk, & Representative Jimmy Bales
Susan Heath & Rush Smith
Representative Gilda Cobb-Hunter
Richland County School District One
Richland Two Education Foundation
The Fellowship of South Carolina Bishops
Fort Mill Schools
Santee Cooper
Calhoun County School District

Past South Carolina Teachers of the Year
The South Carolina Teacher of the Year program began in 1956 and the honor has been awarded annually since 1965. In the history of the program, there have been two National Teachers of the Year from South Carolina and 12 National finalists. This list includes all winners:

2017 Jennifer Wise – Richland School District One

2016 Suzanne Koty – Sumter County School District
2015 Jennifer Ainsworth – Horry County School District
2014 Darleen Sutton – Pickens County School District
2013 Amy McAllister – Florence School District Five
2012 Patti Tate – Rock Hill School District
2011 Kelly Nalley – Greenville County School District
2010 Bryan Coburn – Rock Hill School District Three
2009 Jenna Hallman – Anderson District Five
2008 Ann Marie Taylor – Kershaw County School District
2007 Jennifer (Buffy) Murphy – School District Five of Lexington and Richland Counties
2006 Stephanie Seay – Spartanburg School District Five
2005 Linda (Cookie) Winburn – Richland School District Two
2004 Jason S. Fulmer – Aiken School District
2003 Christi W. McCollum – Richland School District Two
2002 Traci Young Cooper – Richland School District One
2001 Christa M. Compton – Richland School District Two
2000 Mary Hamilton Lostetter – Kershaw County School District
1999 Nancy Elizabeth (Libby) Baker – Chesterfield School District Fifty
1998 Christine Fisher – Florence School District One
1997 Kelly G. McCalla – Greenwood School District Fifty
1996 Debra H. Templin – Newberry School District
1995 Cathy S. Scott – Lexington School District One
1994 Dodie Burns Magill – Greenville School District
1993 Dodie Burns Magill – Greenville School District
1992 Jeanne C. Sink – Charleston School District
1991 Nancy C. Townsend – Florence School District One
1990 Maria McAlister Pyles – Greenwood School District Fifty
1989 Carolyn T. Ross – Oconee School District
1988 Angela B. Burkhalter – Aiken School District
1987 Beverly Varnado – Charleston School District
1986 Charles H. Long, Jr. – Charleston School District
1985 Therese (Terry) Dozier – Lexington School District Five
1984 Fanya C. Paouris – Greenville School District
1983 Catherine H. Williams – Richland School District One
1982 Mary Ann Blaskowitz – Kershaw County School District
1981 Sara W. Payne – Greenville School District
1980 Sharon E. Rankin – Aiken School District
1979 Colonel Jerry M. Sage – Richland School District Two
1978 James G. Mattos – Greenville School District
1977 J. Grady Locklear – Sumter School District Seventeen
1976 Elizabeth Smith Cox – Pickens School District
1975 Delura Jane Satterfield – Greenville School District
1974 Marguerite B. McCaskill – Lexington School District Two
1973 Hazel W. Joiner – Rock Hill School District Three
1972 Pamelia S. Cromer – Lexington School District Two
1971 Martha Marian Stringfellow – Chester School District
1970 James K. Brayboy – Dillon School District Two
1969 Agnes Hildebrand Wilson – Sumter School District Seventeen
1968 Vivian McInnis Forgartie – Dillon School District Two
1967 Ruby P. (Bela) Herlong – Saluda School District
1966 Elizabeth A. Godfrey – Aiken School District
1965 Mary A. Mace – Richland School District One
1960 Elizabeth Stewart – Florence School District Three
1956 Maude A. Hudson – Greenwood School District Fifty

National Teachers of the Year
1985 Therese (Terry) Dozier
1971 Martha Marian Stringfellow
National Finalists
2004 Jason S. Fulmer
2001 Christa M. Compton
1994 Dodie Burns Magill
1990 Maria McAlister Pyles
1985 Therese (Terry) Dozier
1971 Martha Marian Stringfellow
1970 James. K. Brayboy
1969 Agnes Hildebrand Wilson
1967 Ruby P. (Bela) Herlong
1965 Mary A. Mace
1960 Elizabeth Stewart
1956 Maude A. Hudson